Union Minister Announces JEE Main 2021 Dates and Confirms That Exam Will be Held in 13 Languages

JEE Advanced to be Held on 3 July 2021: Education Minister

The Union Minister of India, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, announced the exam dates for JEE Main 2021 in his live session at 6 PM IST today. He again reiterated that the engineering exam will be held four times starting in February 2021. Candidates can appear for either one or all exams and the best score of the candidate will be taken into consideration. As per the dates announced by Pokhriyal, the first session will be conducted between 23 February 2021 and 26 February 2021.

This way the students will get the first-hand experience of the changes in the exam in the first attempt and the experience will help them in realizing their mistakes, which they can improve on in the next sessions. Amidst the uncertain circumstances due to the COVID-19 outbreak, all candidates appearing for JEE Main 2021 will have to attempt 75 questions out of 90, the education minister added.

The total number of questions to be attempted by the students will remain untouched – Physics -25, Mathematics – 25, and Chemistry – 25. However, the entrance test will include a choice in one section to cover the decision of reduction of the syllabus by different boards in the country. The decision was taken to provide students with multiple opportunities to improve their scores in the examination if they fail to give their best in the first attempt without wasting a whole academic year.

JEE Main 2021 Exam to be Held in 13 Languages

Another aspect that the minister clarified is that the upcoming JEE Main exam will be held in 13 languages. Candidates have to make sure that they choose the language option while filling out the form otherwise they won’t be able to do it later. The exam will be conducted in English, Hindi, and Urdu all over the country while regional languages will be introduced in specific states. The newly introduced languages include Bengali for West Bengal, Tripura and Andaman and Nicobar Island; Assamese for examination centers of Assam; and Gujarati for Gujarat, Dadar and Nagar Haveli.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here