Five more IITs received INI status Indian Institute of Technology Laws Bill, 2020

    GUJCET 2020 Admit Card to be Released After 7 August

    Union Cabinet on wednesday approved INI(Indian National Institute) to five IITs (Indian Institute of Technology). The approval was given under Institutes of Information Technology Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

    Consequently, Five IIITs in PPP mode(IIIT Surat, IIIT Bhopal, IIT Bhagalpur, IIIT Agartala and IIIT Raichur) will now be able to use the nomenclature of Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) or Master of Technology (M.Tech) or PhD degree.

    INI status was confered to IITs by the Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister after the approval of Indian Institute of Technology Laws Bill, 2020. 

    The cabinet also approved ex-post facto to 21 posts of directors and registrars in all the INI IITS. This will be distributed as one each in 20 IIITs (PPP), one in IIITDM Kurnool (IIIT-CFTI).

      “The bill will declare the remaining 5 IIITs-PPP along with the existing 15 IIITs in PPP mode as ‘Institutions of National Importance’ with powers to award degrees. This will entitle them to use the nomenclature of Bachelor of Technology (BTech) or Master of Technology (MTech) or PhD degree as issued by a university or institution of National Importance,” an official statement said.

    The objective of the approval is the formalization of IIITs at Bhopal, Surat, Agartala, Raichur and Bhagalpur. These IIITs are functioning as Societies registered under Societies Registration Act of 1860 and from now on they will be covered under the IIIT (PPP) Act, 2017, similar to the other 15 IIITs established under the scheme in PPP mode.

    It will also enable the institutes to attract enough students required to develop a strong research base in the country in the field of information technology, it added.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here