CLAT LLM 2021 Exam Pattern and Syllabus Updated; Check Here

Weekly News Article

As per the latest report, the Consortium of National Law Universities has updated the exam pattern and syllabus for Common Law Admission Test (CLAT LLM) 2021. This year, CLAT LLM will have two sections: objective and subjective. Another change is that the consortium has introduced cutoff marks. The evaluation of the subjective section will be done only if the candidate has secured minimum cutoff marks in the first section. The details of the new test pattern are given below.

Test structure for CLAT LLM 2021

The objective section will consist of 100 multiple choice type questions to be asked from various comprehensive passages. The content of the passages may be drawn from legal reports, editorials, important cases, judgments, and statutes. Each passage will be followed by a series of questions that will test the critical thinking and analytical skills along with the legal knowledge of the students. Candidates will have to apply their knowledge of the fields of law to answer the questions.

In the subjective section, candidates will have to demonstrate their writing skills. This section requires candidates to write two essays of no more than 800 words from the options provided in the paper. The test of writing skills will also include the ability to structure the answer and set the arguments and perspectives in an orderly manner and draw conclusions.

CLAT LLM Syllabus

  • Constitutional Law
  • Administrative Law
  • Law of Contract, Torts
  • Family Law, Criminal Law, Property Law,
  • Company Law,
  • Public International Law
  • Tax Law
  • Environmental Law, and Labour & Industrial Law


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here